Bookish Fun!

Anti-TBR Book Tag

Hello there! I am Max and I know I have not constructed a book tag article since 2018 but I will make a book tag comeback post for this forgotten category on my blog right now. Therefore, today I will be doing the Anti-TBR Book Tag, a tag which has been floating around the book community recently and I am extremely excited to answer the questions and take my own spin on this rather controversial tag!

So, without further ado, let us dive into the questions and answers.

Tag created by Nicole & Her Books

1. A popular book EVERYONE loves that you have no interest in reading?

What a pleasant surprise, am I right? WRONG. Although the first book in the Twilight Saga was pretty decent when I read it in 2018 (not sure how it would fare in this day and age), the remaining two books – excluding Breaking Dawn because I have yet to read that – were not convivial in the sparsest. I hated and still despise New Moon to this day and Eclipse was slightly (only slightly) better but not pleasant enough for me to move my hands to the last book in the series. I will probably read Breaking Dawn someday but not anytime soon because I want to know how it ends. I will not read Midnight Sun because I heard that it is basically Twilight told from Edward’s point of view so erm, no thanks honey. It sounds like a cash-grab.

P.S why is this book 662 pages long!?

2. A classic book (or author) you don’t have an interest in reading?

Is it blasphemous to say that I will probably never read Great Expectations By Charles Dickens? I know almost nothing about this book and I have never watched the film adaptations of this novel. The cover and the synopsis do not hold any interest in me. I read the synopsis a couple of times on Goodreads and I still do not know what this book is about so, this wavers me away from reading this classic.

3. A problematic author whose books you have no interest in reading?

Okay so, I read the Harry Potter series way before she who shall not be named started spewing her transphobic thoughts on Twitter through a series of tweets and threads and now I do not want anything to do with her or read any of her future releases. She basically dragged Harry Potter and her reputation through the mud by making those disgusting statements and I am pretty sure that people who love Harry Potter would not want to associate with her in the future.

Click here to read a complete rundown on what occurred on Twitter in case you missed it and do donate to Homeless Black Trans if you are able to. Click here to donate.

4. An author you have read a couple of books from & have decided their books are not for you?

None at the moment because I love to give a profusion of chances to an author before I put a stop to it and if the book from the author I did not like is hyped up, I am bound to pick it up to see what the appeal is. Therefore, none. However, if this question is worded this way: An author I have no interest in reading from, it would be Jodi Picoult.

Her books – based on the synopsis – do not really intrigue me but they definitely do appeal to a wide audience. So, it is me thing although I am quite intrigued by Her sister’s keepers. Maybe I will read that in the future, who knows.

5. A genre you have no interest in OR a genre you tried to get into & couldn’t?

None at the moment because I want to try out all the genres before I come to a conclusion.

6. A book you have bought but will never read? (this can be a book you have unhauled/returned to the library unread)

Picture #1

Ermmmm… Probably the rest of the Matched series by Ally Condie. I read the first book in that series last year and it was so astonishingly monotonous that it took me an aeon to finish. Also, maybe the rest of the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series… I read the first book in that series and I did not like it. I have a review for this book on my blog, you can check it out here. Yeah, well… At least I tried reading them.

Picture #2

7. A series you have no interest in reading OR a series you started & have dnf’d?

I started reading Beautiful Creatures in 2018 I think and I did not like it. I thought it was boring, the characters were 2D cutout characters, the story in itself did not push me to read the next book in the series and I utterly abhorred the ending of the novel. Maybe someday I will come back to the series with an open mind but as of right now, there are many more wondrous books out there waiting for me to pick them up.

8. A new release you have no interest in reading?

Yeah so this is totally not my type of book after reading several reviews on Goodreads about this novel.


This is the end of the book tag for ‘Anti-TBR book tag!’ I hope you all enjoyed it and follow me with your email/Wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!

12 thoughts on “Anti-TBR Book Tag

  1. Well- I love Dickens and so far not disliked a single book of his, including Great Expectations.

    I don’t even like Twilight or Peculiar Children at all- don’t like vampires and the other is too creepy for my taste

    I actually love Harry Potter and still do- that series is one of the reasons why I fell in love with fantasy. In addition, love Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them. So, those negative remarks have no effect on my love for these series. I plan to reread HP- will never stop loving this series

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i was never planning to read great expectations but sadly i’m required to read it in school 😭 i’m also probably not going to read midnight sun because twilight is horrible, and let’s just say that a pomegranate on the cover is not aesthetic at all. great post 💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is the kind of book tag to ruffle a few feathers. Great Expectations is a good starting point for Dickens because unlike many of his books it has a first person narrative making it easier to follow. There is also the fantastic Dickensian character of Miss Havisham in her faded wedding dress. But to each their own…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment