Book Review

Book Review: The Crimson Guild by Allan Walsh

Hey Guys! I will be doing a book review on ‘The Crimson Guild’ by Allan Walsh today! The Crimson Guild is the first book in the Blood Rage series and it is a YA fantasy novel following a main character called Conall as a thief. So, without further ado, let’s get into it! 

*I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. (Thank you Allan for sending me this book!)*

&

*Note: All thoughts and Opinions are on my own and this is a spoiler free review!*

51i5vm3+eUL._SY346_

“Stop it Conall! Don’t let your anger and hate make you like them. You’re better than that. We need to change them, not the other way around.”- The Crimson Guild, Allan Walsh.

Synopsis:

Conall O’Lorcan has a rage within him, a rage he doesn’t know how to control. Cast out of his village when he becomes a danger, he must seek a new life where nobody knows his secrets. When he is recruited into a guild of thieves, his secrets become hard to hide.

Writing:

I didn’t like the writing style for this book. It was informal and inarticulate. For example,

“It’s alright for you, you’ve got bigger balls than most men,” Chuck replied.

Kat gave him a shove. “Everyone’s got bigger balls than you.”

WHAT!? They were in a very dangerous situation.. and both of these characters were talking about balls.  

And the author didn’t really describe the characters and the surroundings in detail. The author described the characters and the things around the protagonist like a breeze, which is bad because sometimes it is hard to know where the main character is. 

However, the pacing for this book was really fast! It is 113 pages long and I finished this book in three hours. So, if you are in a reading slump, I recommend you to read this book!

Plot:

The idea for this book is awesome- it is about a boy who was chased away from his home and the next thing he knew was that he joined a group of thieves called the guild- But, when I finished this book, I came to a realization that nothing much happened.

Characters:

Conall: I loved Conall. He is the best character in this book! The story progresses as we follow him through his grief and sorrow. I have to say that he may be annoying at time, but, his character will still be very lively and flash-out. 

Kat: I didn’t like her as a character in this book, maybe it is because of the lack of character development or it’s just that I couldn’t connect with this character. 

Little Mick: Again, the lack of character development. But this is different from the character I have talked about previously which is that I didn’t like Little Mick.. at all because he [Spoiler].

Overall:

I do be lying if I say I didn’t like this book. I liked it, but there were a lot of things that I really didn’t enjoy. So, I am giving this book a 41%.


This is the end of my spoiler free review! I hope you all enjoyed it and follow me with your email/wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Crimson Guild by Allan Walsh

Leave a comment