Bookish Fun!

March Reading Wrap Up | 2019

Hey Guys! It is Max here and we will be manufacturing my March Reading Wrap Up today. In March, I read a total of eleven novels which exhibited a sense of insanity to me because I have never read that much in a month before until last month did I set a new record. So, before we plunge into the books that I had read in the month of March, I am going to present you with a rundown of my reading statistics in March:

  • I read 1995 pages;
  • Average Rating: 3.09 stars

Without further ado, let us take a nosedive into the books that I had read last month!

*

1. The Short Second Life Of Bree Tanner By Stephenie Meyer

20190320_1308204534101872075563467.jpg

Page Count: 178 pages

Genre: Paranormal Romance

I will not discourse much on this as I had composed an intact review on this objectionable novel but I will exert a quote from my review to give you a rundown of what actually occurred in this awful book:

“They went hunting for food together + they conversed on random notions + they kissed + they will die for each other + Bree wanted to die when she realized that Diego died + all of these scenes in less than 24 hours = WTF-INSTA-LOVE

Honestly, I am still experiencing the atrocity that this book had proffered. The final rating that I had given this book was E (20%).

2. Little Fires Everywhere By Celeste Ng

20190325_100959.jpg

Page Count: 338 pages

Genre: Domestic Fiction

Again, I had made an entire review of this novel and the vast difference between Little Fires Everywhere and The Short Second Life Of Bree Tanner is that I enjoyed this novel so much more than the other. My review for this book will be linked here

Final rating: A (87%) 

3. A Monster Calls By Patrick Ness

20190404_123451.jpg

Page Count: 237 pages

Genre: Magical Realism

I re-read this in the month of March as I was in the mood to cry and so I picked this book up to read and to reevaluate my feelings towards this novel to check if they were still homogeneous to the first time I read this book and precisely, they were.

If you did not distinguish or you are fresh to this platform, I really luxuriate in this novel as it made me very fervid and it caused my feelings to be flurried around the cauldron as if they were just another potion or ingredient.  

My final rating: A+ (100%)

4. The Wolf Wilder By Katherine Rundell

20190404_123546.jpg

Page Count: 231 pages

Genre: Middle-Grade Fiction

I lamented not drafting a review for this book because as soon as I closed the novel as I aspired to prattle with someone about the outcome of the book. Mind you, this book has a predicament of comely binding and lovely writing but with a disastrous ending. 

Why did you say that?

I perceived that the ending of the novel desisted too adroitly that it suffered a crisis of ‘non-realistic’ ending. The lead character, if my memory serves me right, was a wolf wilder- a person who untamed the wolves that had been tamed, and she was only thirteen/fourteen in this novel. The oldest character in their group (excluding the adults) was fifteen. It does not make sense to me that the oldest character would be competent to guide the children ranging from the age of 9-14 to battle against a man who had all the power in the country and it baffled me even further that they contrived to win and ‘annihilated’ the old man. In addition, the adults were unavailing and they conceded their children to combat against this man who vilified his power while they observed the plight being brought about. To further complicate the matter, the children were only trained for 5 days prior to the opt-out war. What in the world?

Although I despised the ending of the novel, I thoroughly enjoyed the 2/3 quarter of the novel and the characters were well-built and thus, I shall be bestowing this novel with a D (56%).

5. The Five People You Meet In Heaven By Mitch Albom

20190404_124003.jpg

Page Count: 196 pages

Genre: Religion Fiction

Honestly, I do not know how to discourse with you all about this novel because part of me really fancied this novel and the other segment of me shunned this book. I will just succinctly encompass through the things that I admired and the items that I did not like about this book:

Likes- The idea of the story and the characters that appeared in this novel to tell their stories. Mostly about how an action will affect the other and how we were all connected in this world, whether we knew it or not. I thought the messages that this novel sent were empowering and entertainable. 

Dislikes- Some of the stories were tedious and boring. Some of them felt rushed and I thought it could be extended into a longer period to further insinuate their stories to make it more subterranean and impactful.

Therefore, I am going to bestow this novel with a C (65%).

7. A Compilation of Graphic Novels By Various Authors

                   Image result for Paper Girl vol 1Image result for black widow vol 1Related imageImage result for doctor strange vol 1Image result for doctor strange vol 2

Genre: Graphic Novels

Page Count: 752 pages

Authors: Nathan Edmondson, Brian K. Vaughan and Jason Aaron

I despised the Black Widow chronicles as the story in it was incoherent and confusing. However, I enjoyed the art style as it was well-drawn and beautiful. Thus, attaining an F (15%) from me.

Doctor Strange started out strong with gorgeous illustrations and a decent flow of the story but it, once again, fell into the trap of an incongruous story as the timelines were jumbled up and flurried all around the place. Thus, it achieved a D (55%) from me.

Paper Girls would get an A- (75%) from me as I thought the illustrations and the story were fun to read and view and both of them consolidated into an overall fantastical tale. Thus, the only graphic novel that I enjoyed last month was Paper Girls.

8. Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions By Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Image result for Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Recently, I have been attempting to read more books regarding sexism and feminism as I would love to be a part of the movement. I want to associate more about sexism and how society views it. If you have any suggestions on what feminist books I should read, please leave a comment in the comment section below as I would love to know.

As for this book, I learned many valuable lessons and thus, it shall attain an A+ (100%) from me.


This is the end of my ‘March Reading Wrap Up!’  I hope you all enjoyed it and let me know what your reading wrap up was in the comment box below! Follow me with your email/WordPress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Have a great day ahead!

 

8 thoughts on “March Reading Wrap Up | 2019

  1. I love your rating system! I liked The Five People You Meet in Heaven a lot when I read it, but that was many years ago at this point, and I suspect it wouldn’t hold up upon a reread.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. HONESTLY, this just reminded me exactly why I DNF The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. IT WAS SO INFURIATINGLY BAD AND I’M STILL ???? ABOUT IT. I definitely need to read your full review of it. Here’s to hoping the other books you read/rated higher made up for it, even if they weren’t super highly rated!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment