Book Review

The Battle for Oz by Jeyna Grace || Book Review

Hey Guys! It is Max here and today, I will be doing a book review for ‘The Battle for Oz’ by Jeyna Grace. Jeyna Grace is the author of ‘The Dreamer’ which is her debut novel and I have yet to read it. To be honest, I do not think I will ever get to it because this book- The battle for Oz did not impress me whatsoever. But who knows? Maybe I will get on with it one day…

The battle for Oz is a Middle Grade Fantasy and Retelling or reimagined story following Dorothy, Alice and Toto as they battle for the land of Oz that was invaded and conquered by The New Queen- Also known as the Queen of Hearts and her feather guards from another realm named Wonderland.

So, without further ado, let us get into the review!

*Note: All thoughts and opinions are on my own and this is a spoiler-free review!*

Image result

“She knew her worst enemy had arrived. It felt like the good old days. This time, however, she was not going to let her go.”- The Battle For Oz, Jeyna Grace.

Synopsis:

The Battle For Oz reimagines L. Frank Baum’s canonical classic while also taking a page (and character or two) out of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.

When a new queen endeavors to take over the city of Oz once again, Dorothy Gale and Alice Liddel must come together to fight off the wicked magic. With help from Toto and the Tin Man, Scarecrow and The Mad Hatter, the young women travel to earth and back and face impossible circumstances.

In all the chaos and commotion, while Alice and Dorothy struggle to discover the key to saving the city, along the way they find themselves discovering the meaning of friendship.

My thoughts: Introduction:

*Beware: Rant ahead!*

Let us start off with the idea or plot points of the book. The idea for this book was unique and it was nothing like the other books I have read before. Okay, let me explain the idea in detail.

Basically, the idea was the Queen Of Hearts who was exiled from her kingdom in Wonderland and- everyone knows she is evil, right? Alright, back to the topic. So, she discovered a way to get to the land of Oz and with the help of her guards that were exiled as well and her bunch of muttbits, she had the chance to conquer Oz.

That sounds great doesn’t it? It sounds like the book is going to be epic and action-packed, right? Well, sorry to disappoint you but it is not action-packed and only 45% of the book is epic. The idea was fantastic but the story felt flat for me which I will talk more about later on.

Moving on, let us talk about the pacing of the book. The pacing for this book was too fast. Nothing in the book was described properly and everything was described with a breeze which leave me no choice but to move on with no visualization to the story.

The pages within this book- 167 pages, took me five days to finish. FIVE DAYS, people and that is never a good sign for a short book to take me a huge amount of time to finish. To be honest, I kind of regretted reading this book because it pulled me back into a reading slump. *Thank you, book.*

The atmosphere around this book was…? Perhaps..Bad? Because I have no visualization to the story whatsoever, so I cannot feel anything around the book and there is nothing in this book that stands out to me practically. So, I will say this book has a flat atmosphere.

Next, let us talk about the characters. I will go into detail later but for now, I will give you all a brief summary of the characters. All of the characters in the book were one-dimensional and they do not have any character growth which saddened me because I really want to know more about Alice and Dorothy!

Also, this book did not provide any flashbacks of the years that went by after Alice and Dorothy have both left their respective realms. So, I am very, very disappointed.

Did this book drag? one might ask me and I will answer: Of course it did but it did not really drag…drag. The scenes that kind of dragged were supposed to be engaging but it kind of fell flat and also, those scenes did not go very well with the book.

Now, let us move on to the next section- the writing section.

Related image

Writing:

Even though I did not enjoy most parts of the book, the writing style was the only one that I really enjoyed! Jeyna’s writing style for this book was epigrammatic, eloquent and crisp. Her writing style was really beautiful and lovely. I am so sorry for the synonyms! I did not intend to do it.

Now, let us move on to the characters section, shall we?

Characters:

Alice (From Wonderland): Alice was supposed to be that sweet and kind girl that fell into the rabbit hole and ended up in Wonderland. Instead, we got a bossy, ‘I Am Better Than You’ girl in this book. Her attitude in this book was unbearable and when it came to her point of view in the book, I dreaded reading it.

The worse thing is, her attitude did not change throughout the book, it stayed at its optimum state! I supposed her attitude is worse than the Queen Of Hearts herself. Also, she had zero character growth. That is all for her character.

Dorothy (From Oz): Unlike Alice, Dorothy was sweet and kind but she was also weak. She did not always believe in herself and she had this attitude called ‘I Cannot Do It’. I did enjoy her point of view but I did not enjoy her character and also, she had the same character growth as Alice. Zero.

Queen Of Hearts (Also Known as The New Queen of Oz in this book): The Evil Queen was the best character in this book! She had a complex mind, a crazy plan and a great ambition- To rule Oz.

But, how unfortunate, she did not get to rule for long because both Dorothy and Alice stopped her from torturing the citizens. I wished she could be the Queen for a longer period because of how complex she is. Also, she had a great character development, unlike Dorothy and Alice.

Overall:

I am giving this book a 43% rating. Sorry everyone, but I really did not like this book.


This is the end of my spoiler-free review for The Battle for Oz By Jeyna Grace! I hope you all enjoyed it and follow me with your email/wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!