Book Review

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

This book.. How.. do I even begin?

Hey Guys! It is Max here and today, I will be doing a book review for Night Film by Marisha Pessl. Some of you may know Marisha Pessl from her debut novel called Special Topics in Calamity Physics. I have not read that book yet, but after I finished reading Night Film, I really want to get my hands on a copy of it!

Night film is an Adult Thriller, Mystery and a genre that I do not wish to spill because I do not want to spoil this beautiful book to you! In this book, we follow Scott McGrath, the protagonist, as he seeks vengeance from a man who set him up five years ago. While doing so, he also discovers a secret that the family- Cordova is hiding.

So, without further ado, let us get into the review!

*Note: All thoughts and opinions are on my own and this is a SPOILER FREE review!*

Image result for night film marisha pessl

“Because every one of us has our box, a dark chamber stowing the thing that lanced our heart. It contains what you do everything for, strive for, wound everything around you.”- Night Film, Marisha Pessl.

Synopsis:

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.

My thoughts: Introduction

Let us start off with this innocent question: Should I read this book which is categorized as Adult if I am a Young Adult reader? The answer to this question is yes! You should definitely give this book a chance because this book reads like a Young Adult book which shocked me because this is an Adult book. 

Now, with that question away, let us talk about the pacing of the book! The pacing for this book was slow in the beginning. But the pacing picked up after I reached about a hundred pages into the book and when you reached the last two hundred pages of the book, that’s where you need to buckle up and enjoy the ride!

I cannot not talk about the pictures and illustrations that were presented in the book! No spoilers here, I just want to show you all a sample of the pictures in the book:

Image result for night film marisha pessl

Aren’t those illustrations cool and chilling? I really loved the pictures in the book even though they are not the best pictures in the world but still, they are a great substitute to the story!

The relationship between Scott and his workmates- Nora and Hopper were fascinating! Although I did not really like Hopper because he kind of frustrated me a little but overall, he had a great character growth throughout the book which I will talk more about later on. Nora is probably the most outstanding character in this book, even though I liked Scott as the protagonist, I cannot help but feel the need for Nora to be the protagonist of the book.

The scenes in this book were action-packed, full of mysteries, twist and turns and finally the plot twists in this book were crazy! I repeat: Crazy Plot Twists which means Mind-Blowing Plot Twists. There is not a second I do not love about the book. All of the mysteries they uncovered intrigued me and when I thought I figured out where the mysteries were leading the story to, a person or thing suddenly popped up and there goes my thinking. 

The atmosphere and feel around the book felt so real and so raw that I actually thought the characters, films, the suicide and the fans called Cordovites were real. When I finished the book, I search the website that was mentioned in the book called Blackboards on the internet and it actually exists. The website is probably created by Penguin Random House Publishing which is exciting! But I have not try it the website out yet.. so… yeah.

Here is the link to the website: TheBlackBoards

All the tiny cracks and unanswered questions were answered by the end of the book. I really loved how the answers were answered and how all the tiny cracks and odd questions were revealed! Just, you guys.. Must READ THIS BOOK! It is truly fantastic!

Now, let us move on to the writing style for this book!

Writing Style:

Another quote from Night film that I would like to share before we beginning this section!

“Just when you think you’ve hit rock bottom, you realize you’re standing on another trapdoor.”- Night Film, Marisha Pessl.

The writing style for this book was… Fantastic! Okay, I need to be more precise. It was articulate, crisp, emphatic, epigrammatic and stylistic. Her writing style was very different from the other authors I have read from and plus, this book reads like a Young Adult book!

The atmosphere around the protagonist, like I have said earlier, felt so real. When I was reading the book, the characters and the scenes in the book felt so lively and real that it made me think that they were real.. but not. I wish they were real though! 

The consistency throughout the book was marvelous! Marisha kept her characters and her story to be in a consistent way that it made the story more vivid and clearer which I truly loved! By the way, this is a 606 pages book and the consistency in this book was great!

The tone was different for each characters that were presented in the book. All of them were different from the other characters and that’s where the uniqueness of their characteristics comes in. It was fascinating to see each one of them grow from the bad to the good or the good to the better!

Overall for the writing style of the book, I will give it a 98% rating!

Now, let us move on to the characters section!

Image result for great book characters gif

Characters:

Scott McGrath: I loved him! He had such determination that he will find out what had happened to Ashley and what is the family hiding. He was smart, kind of dumb sometimes, reckless and protective, very protective! He was a great protagonist for the book!

Hopper: I disliked him when the story opened him out like a sunflower in the wild. He was pretty rude when he first started appearing in the story, but he changed after that which is great! He became a brave, smart and kind-hearted person. Overall, he had a great character development!

Nora: loved Loved LOVED her as a character in this book! She was the best and the only one that kept my sanity when I was reading this book! When everything else seemed so crazy, she was the one that chills the readers. She was kind (Very Kind) and very gentle with both humans and things. I have to say, she was pretty weak in the beginning but she grew out of that weakness as the story progressed.. So, splendid character development!

Cordova: He was an interesting character to read about. The director of many horrifying films that scare watchers to the bones. He was horrifying and I cannot go on talking  more about him because I do not want to spoil you! 

Bonus content:

If this book were to be a film, I would want Scott McGrath as Ben Affleck, the guy who played the Batman role in Batman V Superman and the lead role in Gone Girl.

Image result for Ben Affleck
Ben Affleck
Emma Watson as Nora Holliday. Emma Watson who played belle’s role in Beauty and the beast and she also played the role in the ‘Harry Potter Series’ as Hermione.
Image result for emma watson
Emma Watson
Finally, I would like to have Dylan Minnette as Hopper. Dylan Minnette who played Clay’s role in ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’.
 Image result
Dylan Minnette

Overall:

I am giving this book a 99.5% Rating. I highly recommend you guys to read this book, it is so goood!

“I hate how the people who really get you are the ones you can never hold on to for very long. And the ones who don’t understand you at all stick around.”- Night Film, Marisha Pessl.


This is the end of my spoiler-free review for Night Film by Marisha Pessl! I hope you all enjoyed it and follow me with your email/wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!

10 thoughts on “Night Film by Marisha Pessl”

  1. Hi, thank you so much for writing this! I’m not really into thriller novels, but I’ve read Marisha Pessl’s book before which was an interesting read. I’m going to have to check this one out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your reviews are so thorough!! I read this one a while ago and remember liking it. It’s funny that Hopper annoyed you at first and Nora was your favorite character because I felt the reverse. Hopper was my favorite and I started off disliking Nora but grew to like her!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

