2017 To-Be-Read Piles, Bookish Fun!

Booktube-a-thon 2017 TBR

Hey Guys! It’s Max here and today, I will be doing a probably overambitious To-Be-Read pile for the 2017 Booktube-a-thon. If you don’t know, the booktube-a-thon is hosted by Ariel Bissett and co-hosted by Raeleen Lemay. It is a week-long of reading starting from July 24th (Monday) to July 30th (Sunday) 2017. 

This is my very first time partaking a readathon and I am excited to share my experience with you all and because of that excitement of sharing my experience, I will be doing updates on my blog throughout the readathon. Maybe once a day or once every two days until the event ends. 

These are the links to both of their Youtube Channel: 

So, without further ado, let us get into the my Booktube-a-thon TBR Pile! 

Image result for the book tube a thon challenges 2017

Oh and did I mention about the challenges? I totally did not, sorry about that. So, as you can see, the above picture has all the challenges in it. I will try to tackle every one of them down. I repeat: I will try

Now, let us officially get into the TBR.


Challenge #1: Read a book with a person on the cover.

Image result

Synopsis:

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.


There’s an art girl on the cover.. So, I think it counts for this challenge. Now, let us talk about why I chose this book for this challenge. I have chosen this book because I have been wanting to read this book ever since I bought it! (Plus, I have heard great things about it!) So, I think it is a perfect fit for this challenge! 


Challenge #2: Read A Hyped Book

Image result

Synopsis:

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.


This is a classic book and it sparks my interest! I will probably be reading and at the same time, doing this challenge first because I want to read this book so badly and I also want to know what the hyped around this book is about! 


Challenge #3: Finish a book in one day

Image result for rod martinez chasing butterflies

Synopsis:

Devastation is coming, not just for Palm Creek, Florida – a small town just a few miles from Cape Kennedy and N.A.S.A. – but eventually – it could destroy the entire eastern Florida coast if it isn’t stopped. A predator with mysterious origins and no understanding of its inherent danger is on the prowl with seemingly nothing that can stop it. It hosts a cancer of epic proportions, not only the kind that eats away at your body – it’s also the kind that transforms your soul. Four total strangers from different walks of life will be on a mission, they just don’t know it yet. And the decisions and outcomes of these four unlikely friends will either save or destroy the populace.


I will probably finish this book in a day or most likely in 3 to 4 hours because this book is only 160 pages and the synopsis sounds super intriguing! I cannot wait to read this after I finish reading To Kill A Mockingbird!


Challenge #4: Read about a character that is very different from you

Image result

Synopsis:

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.


I NEED TO READ THIS BOOK! Now I have come to think of it, this book should have been on my Hyped book challenge! But, whatever, we will have this book on the fourth challenge then.


Challenge #5: Read a whole book outdoors

Image result

Synopsis:

Prentisstown isn’t like other towns. Everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts in an overwhelming, never-ending stream of Noise. Just a month away from the birthday that will make him a man, Todd and his dog, Manchee — whose thoughts Todd can hear too, whether he wants to or not — stumble upon an area of complete silence. They find that in a town where privacy is impossible, something terrible has been hidden — a secret so awful that Todd and Manchee must run for their lives.

But how do you escape when your pursuers can hear your every thought?


You guys might be wondering why did I choose this book for this challenge when I did not even like the book. Well, I have decided to give this book another go. A second chance. So, yes! I hope it will not disappoint!


Challenge #6: Read a book you bought because of the cover

Image result for the gracekeepers

Synopsis:

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, sending the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future. 


I bought this book mainly because of the cover! (Don’t kill me) But I will be reading this book for the readathon and the synopsis is super intriguing as well!


Challenge #7: Read Seven Books!
Image result

Synopsis:

Have you ever had the feeling that you’ve lived another life? Been somewhere that has felt totally familiar, even though you’ve never been there before, or felt that you know someone well, even though you are meeting them for the first time? It happens. 

In a novel comprising seven parts, each influenced by a moon – the flower moon, the harvest moon, the hunter’s moon, the blood moon – this is the story of Eric and Merle whose souls have been searching for each other since their untimely parting.


It is Marcus Sedgwick and again, I can’t wait to read this book!


This is the end of my Booktube-a-thon TBR list! I hope you all enjoyed it and let me know your TBR list for the Booktube-a-thon down in the comment box below! Follow me with your email/wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!

32 thoughts on “Booktube-a-thon 2017 TBR”

  1. How is your reading going so far? This is my first time doing it too, but doubt I will actually hit the seven books 😦 Still, it’s great fun, so good luck over the last few days! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That looks like an amazing bunch of books!! I really want to read Truthwitch (I don’t know why I have been putting it off for so long), and I can’t wait to see what you have to say about it!! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

