2017 To-Be-Read Piles, Bookish Fun!

July TBR

Hey Guys! It’s Max here and Welcome to my June TBR… Wait, it is July! I cannot believe it is already July! June flew by so quickly that I have not had the chance to finish my June TBR! (The one that I said I was determined to gobble them up… But failed to do it)*Tears* 

Last month, I finished reading 6 books and they were Atlantia by Ally Condie, Zombies Vs. Unicorns by Holly Black and other collective authors, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, The Giver by Lois Lowry, Noggin by John Corey Whaley and Klubbe the Turkle and the Golden Star Coracle by Philip Dodd. I will be linking the book reviews down below: 

So, without further ado, let us get into the July TBR!


1. Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Image result for night film book

Synopsis:

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.


I am currently reading this book and let me tell you this: It is fantastic! I am currently at page [168/606] and I am already loving it! I don’t normally read thriller or horror but this book grips me! 


2. Chasing Butterflies by Rod Matinez

Image result for chasing butterflies by rod

Synopsis:

Devastation is coming, not just for Palm Creek, Florida – a small town just a few miles from Cape Kennedy and N.A.S.A. – but eventually – it could destroy the entire eastern Florida coast if it isn’t stopped.

A predator with mysterious origins and no understanding of its inherent danger is on the prowl with seemingly nothing that can stop it. It hosts a cancer of epic proportions, not only the kind that eats away at your body – it’s also the kind that transforms your soul. Four total strangers from different walks of life will be on a mission, they just don’t know it yet. And the decisions and outcomes of these four unlikely friends will either save or destroy the populace.


This book was sent by Nuff said publishing company for me to review! I cannot wait to read this book after I finish reading Night Film. The synopsis intrigued me and that cover intrigued me as well. So, I can’t wait!


3. To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee

Image result

Synopsis:

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.


I have my eye on this book for awhile now and I have finally decided to read this book this month! I cannot wait to share my thoughts and feels on this book to you all.. Also, I cannot wait to read it!


4. The Blood Mage by Aimee Davis

Image result for the blood mage aimee

Synopsis:

Monster. Murderer. Oathbreaker. 

Three years after the events leading to the deaths of her friend and lover, twenty-one-year-old Alena Kozlov is still trying to outrun her past. But the darkness within her is not something she can simply leave behind. 

The nightmares plaguing her become reality when a familiar face seeks her out in her isolated desert home bearing news that awakens all she’s tried to keep locked inside. There’s a promise she made long ago she’s determined to keep, even if it means she will have to tear what remains of herself, and her world, apart. 

To save her friends, she may have to become the monster once more. But fear is not for the damned.


Oh my goodness. I have been anticipating this book ever since I finished The Wheel Mages by Aimee Davis. I cannot wait to read this book because the first book ended with a cliffhanger! So, two words: Can’t Wait!

(Thank you Aimee, for sending me this book!)


5. Feed by M.T Anderson

Image result

Synopsis:

Identity crises, consumerism, and star-crossed teenage love in a futuristic society where people connect to the Internet via feeds implanted in their brains.

For Titus and his friends, it started out like any ordinary trip to the moon – a chance to party during spring break and play with some stupid low-grav at the Ricochet Lounge. But that was before the crazy hacker caused all their feeds to malfunction, sending them to the hospital to lie around with nothing inside their heads for days. And it was before Titus met Violet, a beautiful, brainy teenage girl who has decided to fight the feed and its omnipresent ability to categorize human thoughts and desires. Following in the footsteps of George Orwell, Anthony Burgess, and Kurt Vonnegut Jr., M. T. Anderson has created a not-so-brave new world — and a smart, savage satire that has captivated readers with its view of an imagined future that veers unnervingly close to the here and now. 


I am bringing this book back to my July’s TBR because I have not had the chance to read it in June. So, Can’t wait to read it!


6. Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

Image result

Synopsis:

Have you ever had the feeling that you’ve lived another life? Been somewhere that has felt totally familiar, even though you’ve never been there before, or felt that you know someone well, even though you are meeting them for the first time? It happens.

In a novel comprising seven parts, each influenced by a moon – the flower moon, the harvest moon, the hunter’s moon, the blood moon – this is the story of Eric and Merle whose souls have been searching for each other since their untimely parting.


If you have read my ‘The Ghost Of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick‘ book review, you will know that I absolutely loved that book. Because I loved The Ghost Of Heaven so much, I bought Marcus Sedgwick’s other book and that’s Midwinterblood. I can’t wait to read Midwinterblood! I bet it is going to be EPIC!


This is the end of my July TBR list! I hope you all enjoyed it and let me know your July TBR down in the comment box below! Follow me with your email/wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!

36 thoughts on “July TBR”

  1. Ohhh, I’ve had To Kill A Mockingbird on my TBR for a while now… Don’t really know when I’ll actually be able to get to it, haha. Looking forward to the review, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am new to blogging, but not to reading… Your ability to identify and commit to a selection of books for the coming month is completely novel (forgive the unintentional pun) to me! I’m usually reading four or five books at a time and when one is completed often selection for what is next is visceral, as I touch or hold a couple of options, literally weighing them in my hands, then again, my TBR “pile” is literally close to 500 books. So I commend you for your discipline!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, I love this round up, some books in there I haven’t heard of so I’ll definitely give your reviews a look. To Kill a Mockingbird is a book I’ve been forcing on people for so long. It’s a beautiful story, Atticus Finch is just the best fictional Dad a girl could wish for. I hope you enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like a pretty good list! I’m curious of your opinion on To Kill a Mockingbird. I never read it as a child/teenager and tried to read it as an adult, but couldn’t get into it.

    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ is one of my favourite novels, and yes I’m saying this because I’m an English major who has studied this novel in detail. I absolutely love the message it sends across, although I wouldn’t recommend reading the sequel once you finish TKMB! The sequel just ruins everything that TKMB stands for really! Also, I read Night Film last year (or maybe the year before) and it was so weird, but oddly enjoyable.This seems like a great TBR list – hope you enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

