Book Review

Klubbe The Turkle And The Golden Star Coracle by Philip Dodd || Book Review

Hey Guys, it’s Max here! I will be doing a book review for ‘Klubbe The Turkle And The Golden Star Coracle’ by Philip Dodd today. Klubbe The Turkle And The Golden Star Coracle is a High Fantasy, Science Fiction novel following Klubbe, the protagonist, as he goes through a journey with his inventions. So, without further ado, let’s get into the review!

*Disclaimer: I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. However, that does not change my opinions about the book. (Thank you Philip for sending me this book!)*

&

*This is a spoiler-free review and all thoughts and opinions are on my own!*

Image result

“Space is infinite. To the mind that means freedom, liberation.’ So wrote Arisko, our greatest turkle philosopher, in his most famous work, ‘Thoughts In A Bathtub’,” said Dottia, dreamily, in an inspired state.”- Klubbe The Turkle and The Golden Star Coracle, Philip Dodd.

Synopsis:

On the planet Ankor, Klubbe the turkle lives as a hermit. A marine mishap inspires him to be an inventor. His inventions and explorations change his life, his entire planet. Turkles are close cousins of turtles. Unlike them, they have yellow golden skin and back shells, walk on their hind legs, have the gift of language, and the ability to create their own culture.

The life of Klubbe may read like a light-hearted science fiction story, but it actually happened to him. Princess Corka thinks his invention is sublime. Ubbtosh, the pyramid priest, promises to guide him to the core of the cosmos.

In space, there are no sign posts, he finds, but there are other beings. And on Ankor, there are mysteries to be solved. Is the Great Glom more than a myth? And what about the Great Archy Eopta?

My thoughts: Introduction

Oh, let us start off with the pacing of the book. The pacing of the book was so-very slow. There were fillers and info-dumps everywhere and the characters, which I will talk more about later on, mumbled to themselves too much. 

I found some information that the author talked about unnecessary because it did not fit into the story, like not at all. The fillers dragged the story a little too much. I can’t help but yawned because the story dragged and dragged and…! It could have been a 150 pages book but because of the drag, it is 209 pages long. 

I did really like the plot of the book and I liked where it’s moving the readers to, but the plot lacked luster and the story felt flat for me. That is the first reason why I can’t finish the book. 

The second reason why I cannot finish the book is because of the almost-hit-me Reading Slump. This book was leading me into a reading slump! All book lovers hate reading slumps, it makes us feel like the end of the world. It took me 7 days to finish 132 pages (61% of the book) and there were actually more, but I have decided to put down the book because I cannot take it anymore so, I stopped reading the book. 

There was a scene in the book about Klubbe’s people landing on Earth to fix their control dome in the ship. So, when they have landed on an island and a couple of humans saw them. This was their first reaction: “Wow”. Were they not supposed to run? Were they not supposed to be scared to see a bunch of extraterrestrials?  I mean, of course it’s okay not to be scared but seriously? 

Let us move on to the writing style now.

Image result for book gif

Writing:

The writing style for this book was crisp, eloquent and a little too flowery. Honestly, the writing style was the one that got me through 132 pages of the book. I liked Philip’s writing style, he writes like none other authors. It’s unique and I loved it. But even though Philip has a beautiful writing style, it still cannot get me to finish the book. 

To address why I said a little too flowery, it’s because of some sentences in the book. Some of them have complicated words that were intended to make it more attractive, but it just makes it harder for the reader to get through those sentences.

I did like the way Philip described the things around the protagonist, Klubbe. It was remarkable and beautiful. He described things differently from the other authors. It is, again, unique!

The only thing I enjoyed about the book was the writing style and some side characters from the book which I will talk about after this. 

So, let us move on to the characters!

Characters:

Klubbe: I did not like him. He mumbled to himself throughout the 132 pages of the book, I don’t know if he mumbled on and on to the end of the book but I do know that he mumbled a lot. He had no character development and mostly, he just felt flat for me.

Princess Corka: I loved Princess Corka! She had great manners and I actually wished she was the protagonist when I was reading the book! Overall, she had great character developement. 

Kribb: I liked Kribb. He may be annoying at time, but he had a great personality! He was kind, generous and smart. He had a fantastic character growth and I loved to see that in books! 

King Zilk: I really liked King Zilk! He was funny, witty and a little weird sometimes but still, he had a great character development/growth and a great personality for a King!

Overall:

DNF. (It stands for Did-Not-Finish) I read up to 132 page which is 61/100% of the book. Sorry guys, but this book is just not for me. 

“I suppose it’s impossible to say that they will not invent anything else, because they might,” said Zubria. “And, of course, if one thought of something that they might invent, one would have thought of it oneself, therefore one would be the inventor of what one thought of, and they would not be, which would make one an inventor, like them.”- Klubbe The Turkle and The Golden Star Coracle, Philip Dodd.


This is the end of my spoiler-free review for Klubbe The Turkle and The Golden Star Coracle! I hope you all enjoyed it and follow me with your email/wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!

4 thoughts on “Klubbe The Turkle And The Golden Star Coracle by Philip Dodd || Book Review”

  1. A friend just asked me to review his book so I had to read through this. It does take a lot doesn’t it! His is all poetry too which kinda made me lazy to read because I prefer stories and well….my mind is rather busy with a lot of stuff so the starting and stopping of ‘one poem after another’ reading, just made it harder to concentrate. In my state I doubt I could give a fair review. However reading your review of the above mentioned book helps in many ways.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This was an interesting way of reviewing a book you DNFd. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a review before of one. I think that typically reviewers don’t review them. I found your handling of this thought provoking.
    And congratulations on your award! Very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

