Book Review

Extracted By R.R Haywood

Hey Guys! I am coming to you with a book review today! Extracted by R.R Haywood is the first book in the Extracted trilogy (Extracted #1). This is a spoiler-free review. So without further ado, let’s get into the review! 

*I received this book from the publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

&

*Note: All thoughts and opinions are on my own.*

413+tgXqgIL._SY346_.jpg

Synopsis:

In 2061, a young scientist invents a time machine to fix a tragedy in his past. But his good intentions turn catastrophic when an early test reveals something unexpected: the end of the world.

A desperate plan is formed. Recruit three heroes, ordinary humans capable of extraordinary things, and change the future.

Safa Patel is an elite police officer, on duty when Downing Street comes under terrorist attack. As armed men storm through the breach, she dispatches them all.

‘Mad’ Harry Madden is a World War Two legend. Not only did he complete an impossible mission—to plant charges on a heavily defended submarine base—but he also escaped with his life.

Ben Ryder is just an insurance investigator. But as a young man he witnessed a gang assaulting a woman and her child. He went to their rescue, and killed all five.

Can these three heroes, extracted from their timelines at the point of death, save the world?

Writing:

I am not a fan of the writing style for this book. The amount of ‘f-bombs’ the author used bother me. I was also really confused by some parts of the story. However, I really liked the aspect of the story, the time-traveling and all but, I felt that there should be more to the story…like, a lot more. 

Characters:

Safa Patel: She’s the ‘Strong-female-lead’ for this book and I really enjoyed her as a character in this book. 

Ben Ryder: I don’t know what to think of him. He annoyed me at some point of the book and I just didn’t like him enough as a character in this book.

‘Mad’ Harry Madden: Oh, he’s an interesting one. He fitted perfectly into the story and I really want to know more about him. 

Pacing:

The pacing for this book is so slow.. very slow. There’re actually some unnecessary sentences in this book and it can actually be shorten down to 350 pages. 

Overall:

I give this book a 35% rating.


This is the end of my spoiler free review! I hope you all enjoyed it and follow me with your email/wordpress account to get notifications when I post a new article! Bye!

9 thoughts on “Extracted By R.R Haywood”

  1. Ah, I’ve been looking for a good sci-fi (time traveling to be specific) book to get stuck into later in the year. It’s a shame about the pacing and the f-bombs – I also don’t like when authors throw curses around unless absolutely necessary (or for humour). And slow-paced books especially for a topic you expect mega action in is a let down. Still, I do love the cover! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

