Book Review

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

15625434_269875516762462_668431438223245312_n.jpg

“There is not always a good guy. Nor is there always a bad one. Most people are somewhere in between.” – A monster calls, Patrick Ness.

Hey Guys! I will be reviewing about A Monster Calls today! We will first dive into the non-spoiler section, then the spoiler section. All thoughts and opinions are on my own. So, without further ado, let’s get started:

Synopsis

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

Writing

The writing style for this book was hauntingly beautiful! I loved every word that was written in it. Unlike the ‘Chaos Walking’ trilogy which I didn’t really enjoy. The writing style also made me cried out loud because Patrick made it so heartbreakingly beautiful.  

Characters

I love all the characters in this book! Especially Conor, his mother and the monster. They made me cried. I stopped crying only abhour later because I can’t stopped thinking about them. There were also some parts that made me laughed, but mostly, 80% of the book made me cried.  

Rating

This is one of my favorite book of all time. Overall, I give this book a 98% rating. If you have not read this book, I highly recommend you to read it.

*Please go and read the book if you have not already. Come back after you finished it and discuss with me!* 

____________________________

Spoiler/discussion section:

Can we talk about the ending? It left me there, crying. Conor’s mom passed away at 12:06 A.M and that was when the monster came walking and he left after that. It’s so heartbreaking. 

“I wish I had a hundred years, she said, very quietly. A hundred years I could give to you.”

Oh! The feels! I felt it deep inside of me! 

“Conor held tightly onto his mother.
And by doing so, he could finally let her go.”

____________________________

Finally,

This is the end of the review! I hope you all enjoyed this review and follow me to get notifications when I post new article! Bye!

37 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness”

  1. I adored this book too – the language is so rich and strung together so well. I’m just not sure I’ll ever be able to go back and re-read it though as I’m sure I went through a whole box of tissues. And I definitely can’t watch the movie in public – will have to wait for it on dvd!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had A Monster Calls (I think I still have it on my shelf, actually) as an ARC, back in the day. 🙂 It was super short and haunting… not just haunting for the images it played with the Monster, but because of the reality of what was happening to this boy. I read it again and again from time to time whenever I wanted to feel hauntingly mystified. 🙂 It’s one of my favorites!!
    Thanks for posting this review~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This book left me in tears–I swear, the pages of the book were drenched. Okay, maybe not drenched but you get the point. The film actually did justice to the book. I wasn’t sure about whether the book would work as a film but they executed it very well. I really loved how the monster’s stories were animated. Have you read the “Chaos Walking” trilogy? It’s written by Patrick Ness.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Max! First off, I wanted to thank you so much for the love you’ve been leaving on my blog! I love sharing thoughts about the books I’m reading, so it’s awesome to know that people are actually reading them!
    I also really enjoyed this book, and I loved reading your thoughts about it! I totally agree with your rating; this is one of those books that I will recommend to anyone because it was so good! I just followed your blog, so I’ll be back in the future to talk so more about books!
    –StoryFabric

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

